Our Experts Are Here to Help 1.877.299.4511

Wednesday, June 1, 2011

Texas Texting-while-Driving Ban Still Has Hope

Texas Texting and Driving Ban
Approved late last Sunday, lawmakers in Austin approved the ban on texting-while-driving. It just needs Governor Rick Perry's signature before it can become Texas law.

We have been following this almost-law closely for a while now, and to see that it just needs that one little more push before it can finally become Texas law makes supporters hope for the best. Since its inception, the statewide texting-while-driving ban has been met with both support and opposition.

If the ban becomes law, beginning September 1, offenders may expect to pay a fine of up to $200 when caught operating their phone at the wheel. Lawmakers hope that a fine is a small price to pay for potentially saving lives. If people could do that one thing, which is give focus on their driving by avoiding cell phones, it could mean saving lives.

In 2009, 408 Texans died from distracted driving.

Sometimes, singling out teens to be the primary offenders of texting-while-driving ignores the fact that even adults with driving experience can be guilty of this crime too. Or people who believe they could multi-task, not seeing for themselves how those seconds focused on a phone affects how they operate a vehicle.

There's speculation that the governor will not sign it, stating that it could be a local ordinance instead, and here's a chance for you to be heard: you may be able to call, fax and send letters to his office. He has 20 days - Phone: 512-463-2000 ask for legislative affairs / Fax: 512-463-1849. Mail letters to Office of the Governor, PO Box 12428, Austin, TX 78711. If you support this bill, tell your friends to do the same.

Labels: , , ,

Posted by DriverSchool at


Post a Comment

Note: Only a member of this blog may post a comment.

Subscribe to Post Comments [Atom]

|<< Home

A LowestPriceTrafficSchool.com Company
701 Brazos, Austin, TX 78701